Free Spirit? Define that.

I know it’s been awhile since I’ve had a talk with you all, and it’s strange because it’s sort of like walking around without a pinky on one hand, yet somehow it really doesn’t affect life that much.  But, it does because you look down and the pinky is gone, something is missing, and all the other nails are so pretty on that hand, but where the heck is that pinky because it’s so integral to who you are, but it’s missing, and thus it goes with me not writing on my blog forEVER.

get-attachment (27)
Hubby’s favorite pic of me on our honeymoon, zit and all.

Free Spirit.  This is what my doctor told me today. “You are such a free spirit.”

I think about this, and I have been accused of the exact opposite as a Christian woman who leans right (though would prefer to be called a progressive moderate, coined here, GO RAND PAUL) and I feel like I’ve done what I am supposed to do–we pay our taxes, make sure we pay our bills, put our kids through college (and are still footing the bill and it’s worth it) drink regular Pepsi because I’m a purest dontcha know, and I see to others around me who need a little loving.

I hear their voices on the phone when ordering chocolate and I ask, “Are you okay?” And I hear their stories, and I ask, “Can we pray for you?” and they say, “That would be so nice!” and you can hear the relief that some random person on the end of a phone in a small chocolate shop somewhere in the midwest cares enough to pray for them.

Free Spirit.

Why?  Because I think that Christians should actually be like Jesus and not leave a single soul hurting on the side of the road.

If I just touch his clothes, I will be healed (Mark 5:28).” That’s what she told herself, this nameless, bleeding woman who’d traveled 30 miles, fueled by nothing but faith.

And, He said to her, “Daughter, your faith has healed you. Go in peace and be freed from your suffering.” (Mark 5:34)

Free Spirit.

I understand.  I know people hurt.  I know people wonder.  I am free because I believe that I have been “set free from my suffering.”

Be a free spirit.  It’s okay.  We are all God’s children.

Free Spirit

But, if we are all God’s children–“Do not speak evil against one another…if you judge the law, you are not a doer of the law but a judge. There is only one lawgiver and judge, he who is able to save and to destroy.

Who are you to judge your neighbor?” James 4:11 And guess what all ye to the left of me and ye to the right?  When you speak badly of those who oppose your thinking, you create an environment of hate and discourse.

 But, I will love you anyway.

I will just shield myself from your arrows.

Free Spirit

I am flawed.  I am weak.  I love greatly, and feel strongly for all those around me.

I love being an American in these times.

If that’s what a free spirit is, I am happy to be a “free spirit”.

Amen, brothers, sisters, children, and friends.

Amen.
image (1)

12 thoughts on “Free Spirit? Define that.

  1. I suppose it’s a matter of context, that you are a “free spirit” in the view of your doctor, who may just feel that he or she is less of one than you are. The things you listed about yourself would not lead me to use that term, but I admit I’m not viewing it from your doctor’s or your perspective.

    From my reading of the article alone, I would call you a “regular person” who tries to express compassion in the actions of daily life. That habit does make us less burdened by negative emotions. It feels good to help people, and they appreciate being given regard. This empowers others, and in doing so it reinforces and rewards you too.

    Perhaps I would call you a “freeing spirit”.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi Mikey. Totally appreciate your thoughts. Indeed the context he was using is different from the one I write about here, but it’s where my writer’s mind went. No stopping that train.

    I guess I just am calling for unity among us, and freeing the spirit helps me see all the sides that come to the table.

    Thank you for stopping in.

    Like

  3. Bonbon you are a free spirit….and a loving spirit…and a kind spirit….and a Christian Spirit…you live the way Jesus would want you too…Love all….and promote PEACE at all costs….

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Hi B, I hope it isn’t an imposition to nominate you for our new award: (sometimes they can be labor intensive) I hope you’ll accept The WordPress Family Award. Your beautiful smile and warm support is as close as family to me and I felt you definitely deserved to be given this one. Check out the requirements (easy!) on my newest post. Blessings,

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

