A bird doesn’t sing because it has an answer, it sings because it has a song. Lou Holtz

photo (5)

The baby chickadees are learning how to fly by using the back porch as their obstacle course.  I stood for 15 mins watching them tremble on the arm of one chair, and hop with wings spread to the next chair, wobbling when landing.  In just those few minutes, I saw a confidence in the babies start to grow.  They landed with a little more bravado, and one even decided to join the orange decorative bird on the shelf, surprised by the wire under its tiny feet, instead of a sturdy board, it teetered there its short tail feathers not long enough to really offer much balancing help…yet.

I didn’t move to get my camera, I just watched as it settled, its little heart fluttering the downy feathers at its breast.  The orange painted bird stood stoically beside it, and if it could speak, I think it would say, “I wish I could fly”.

2 thoughts on “A bird doesn’t sing because it has an answer, it sings because it has a song. Lou Holtz

Leave a Reply

