Delta Dawn, what’s that flower you have on, could it be a faded rose from days gone by? And did I hear you say he’d be a-meeting you here today, to take you to his mansion in the sky…” Tanya Tucker, 1972

Delta Dawn, what's that flower you have on, could it be a faded rose from days gone by?  And did I hear you say he'd be a-meeting you here today, to take you to his mansion in the sky…

Maybe because it’s Daylight Saving Time, I don’t know, but I woke this morning with the music Delta Dawn playing in my mind about a woman caught in time from a broken heart. Such a sad song, and one that many of us thought a lot about when we were younger. Could unrequited love be so devastating that it could make a person go mad?

It is a full forty two years later since Tanya Tucker’s song played over and over again on WLS am radio, and I still have no answer for that, because I think unrequited love can  cause such great regret in our lives, because some of us are Delta Dawns and some of us are the man with the promises, and sometimes we are the other way around.  And there are always feelings that persist because of these failed relationships.  It’s just the way love and life are.

In my own life, I have had satisfying relationships and friendships that prepared me for the day I would meet my husband and invest in new friendships.  But, break ups between two people, not just boyfriend/girlfriend, even when mutual are always messy and scary and “hard to do”.  And they represent a dream that didn’t come true.  Most of us don’t spend several years with a person and not have dreams about the future of that relationship or friendship.

My father says that through Christ’s love and sacrifice, love never dies, what love we know on Earth, we will know in heaven. I believe that with all of my heart as I consider the loved ones who have gone before me, even my pets. It’s their love that brings healing to my sorrow, it’s a living thing.

I believe that once we love, no matter how poorly it ends–and this is love for family, or lovers, or friends–our love for them always lives on in our hearts.  Once our hearts know love for a person, that love can never diminish, it just enriches our ability to love even more.  And therein lies the healing balm of forgiveness that polishes that love and keeps it golden, and never fails the test of time.

Our hearts are never, ever completely full.  Think of it if it were.  ”Okay, so, my heart has reached its maximum “storage” and can’t hold any more love.  Sorry, I can’t love you today.” How sad would that be?

I fall in love deeper everyday with the people around me, and I find new love almost everyday.  I feel love for the cranky man who finally breaks down in tears because his wife is so sick, and he wants to bring her chocolate to make her feel better.  I fall in love with my friend who has me for lunch and prepares it just so, and by some weird coincidence serves my favorite wine.  I fall in love with her rescue dog, Bertha, who for some reason doesn’t feel worthy of love in her sweet canine heart, but has such great love to give, when given the chance.

I just fall in love, my friends, I just do. I want to take the chance on walking around with a faded rose, I think love’s worth it.

One thought on “Delta Dawn, what’s that flower you have on, could it be a faded rose from days gone by? And did I hear you say he’d be a-meeting you here today, to take you to his mansion in the sky…” Tanya Tucker, 1972

Leave a Reply

